Beauty and the Muse

Ragin’ Turbans X Atlanta Edition

Posted on: July 15, 2015

IMG_9013(Photo: Sumiyyah Abdur-Rasheed, MUA: Bertina B., and Model/Stylist: Leah. V.)

The photo above shows a lady who just got off a plane, had about four hours of sleep, and curated an entire photo-shoot with wardrobe included for four models from another state. Mind blown.

IMG_8468 (Model: Jonda, Photo: Sumiyyah, MUA: Bertina, Turban/Stylist: Leah V.)

So basically, I was introduced to Sumiyyah of Ann Nahari earlier this year. We clicked immediately. She told me she had equipment. I told her I could get models and curate the shoot. We came up with this set of beautiful photos. Our concept was ‘Ragin’ Turbans’.

IMG_8558(Model: Jonda/ Stylist: Leah V.)

I wanted this shoot to be culturally diverse, as well as body-diverse. We wanted to show people that anyone could rock a turban!

IMG_8597(Model: Brittany, Wardrobe/Turban: Leah V.)

I found Brittany off Instagram. She’s also an Atlanta-native. Boy, did she transform!

IMG_8698(1)

I fell in love with this “Golden Girls” sequin top.

IMG_8687

So fierce. I can’t even handle it. I love when my team’s work comes to life!

IMG_8929(1)(Model: Erica, Photo: Sumiyyah, MUA: Bertina, Stylist/Turban: Leah V.)

Erica is also a local Atlanta model and a dance choreographer. Such a pleasure to work with 🙂

For this look, I was going for African Queen. I love how the prints mix and collide.

IMG_8799

Queen Erica.

IMG_8834

I had an idea for a dress. Sumiyyah took my idea and made it come to life. The dress fit like a glove. I love designing!

IMG_9039

So, at the end of the day, this was an amazing shoot. Everyone chipped in when I started to freak out. Clothes and bits of fabric was everywhere. All in all I had a wonderful time curating this shoot. Thanks to everyone who was involved :0 🙂 😮

Leave a Reply

