Beauty and the Muse

Styling: Custom Made African Pieces at La Bon Fabrics

Posted on: January 15, 2014

africa4

 

My friend, Madinah, asked me if I’d like to model with her for Yemisi, seamstress and owner of La Bon Fabrics in Detroit. How could I oblige?

africa2

 

I got my makeup done by none other than the queen of beat faces, Madinah.

africa

 

Our heads were wrapped by Yemisi and Zarinah El- Amin Naeem (above), author and creator of the “Beautifully Wrapped” movement, which celebrates the vast cultural world of headwrapping. She even has a cool calender she produces every year, the proceeds go to helping children in Africa.

africa3

I felt amazing in these custom made threads. The top was giving me life!

africa1

 

Madinah was killing her look. So regal!

africa5

Bloopers ๐Ÿ™‚

africa7

Yaaaaaassss hunty. Makeup. On point. Headwrap. On point.

africa8

africa9I felt like a geisha in this ensemble. The skirt was amazing.

africa6

Madinha, Zarinah, and I. If you want more information on her head wrap calenders go toย http://www.beautifully-wrapped.com

africa10

The end of the day.

The models and the creative and talented seamstress, Yemisi Olorunsola (in the black pants).ย For more info on any of these custom made pieces at La Bon Fabrics callย (313) 341-0634 or go toย 18999 Livernois Ave, Detroit Michigan.

Leave a Reply

