Beauty and the Muse

Sunglass Obsession: Summer Trends

Posted on: June 12, 2013

kelis-sunglasses-2013-promo-photo-600x450 By Leah Vernon

My friend went shopping and bought a huge bag of stuff. She pulled one piece out at a time, explaining each article of clothing as we ohhh’d and ahhh’d at every one of  her new closet treasures. She pulled out a pair of sunglasses. They were baaadddd. Jealousy crept on me as she tried them on and posed. They looked perfect on her face too. I wanted them. But I couldn’t have them, she’d got to them first. At that moment, I knew I had to step my sunglasses game up. And I did. I found three pairs that were going to be my staples for the entire summer.

 

3 (1)tumblr_lxamjrmWAe1r434bco1_500

 

I grabbed a pair of these “John Lennon” inspired shades when I saw Rihanna rocking them during her concert. I have a big forehead. She has a big forehead. Hey, why not? I thought I could rock them too. I bought them at Plato’s Closet for like ten bucks. They looked cute on me in the store (darn those store lights). But after I wore and took pictures in them, I thought it made my already long face appear even longer. These may be better on faces that are heart-shaped, round, and/or square.

491092169_7aa86000baima9

 

 

Ok, much better. I fell in love with these “Heart-shaped” sunglasses when I first laid eyes on them sitting idle on a J.C.  Penney’s rack. For ten dollars, I had to have them. Peace. Love. And hearts.

cats-eye-sunglassestom-ford-eyewear-spring-2011securedownload (17)

 

I wore my 60’s inspired “Cat-Eye” sunglasses to an art show. I got them at Plato’s Closet as well, same price as the one above. I feel old-skool poet when I wear them. And they don’t make my face look like a banana either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

